Gluten-Free Tortillas and Pancakes

I’m a little late.

Usually I’m on the internet at 12:01 on January 1, furiously recording my new resolutions on whichever blog is seeing me through the holidays. My resolutions are like starting a new diet (and often did involve starting a new diet…) — I am enthusiastic about the end result and dive in with vigour, only to come to the realization that this is going to be HARD!!! After putting in an honest effort for all of January I start to let things slide– a day of laziness when I resolve to be active every day. A brownie when I resolve to really eat dairy free. Bacon when I decide to adopt vegetarianism, an under-the-breath “shit!” when I resolve to clean up my mouth… all under the illusion that I deserve it. I can always find reasons to justify breaking my resolution just that one time, and then the time after that and after that and, yes, after that. The inevitable crumble of my resolve begins early in February and has been obliterated entirely by the end of March.

I’m probably not that different from the rest of you.

Still, I delight in setting goals and making resolutions. It’s a way to forgive myself and improve myself all at once– a failed resolution is progress over no growth at all!

So while I wasn’t here at 12:01 am on January 1 (I was celebrating), I did have my resolution all set. I think it’s a good one this year. Here it is:

In 2010 I resolve to spend more time in my body and out of my head.

This is a big, all-encompassing resolution but I have high hopes (illusions?) that it will be more successful than my past resolutions. It’s something that I actually want to do and, I think, something that I have to do.

I’ve always been a reader and a thinker instead of a soccer player or physed participant however I do recognize that in the past year I have burrowed so far up into my head that I can’t dance anymore! I feel so uncomfortable and hyperaware… I overanalyze it. When trying to dance my thoughts range from body image issues to “do I have a weird look on my face?” to existentially nihilist thoughts: what’s the point in dancing if we’re all going to die anyhow? It’s disturbing, and I’d like it to stop. The same thing happens with my Yoga classes. I don’t feel at ease enough to make it through ten minutes of yoga unless it’s a guided class and even then my instructor spends a lot of her time reminding me, specifically, to focus on breathing. These thoughts creep up on me almost every time I try to step outside of my head and into some form of physicality. I’d like to get rid of them.

I’m confident that I can do this, especially because there is one aspect of the physical realm that I truly do enjoy — cooking. Eating, too, but that’s beside the point.

When I get into my kitchen I am at peace with myself and with all of these thoughts fluttering in my head. I don’t think of much except what I’m creating, why I’m creating it (experimentation, creativity, taste and nourishment… the journey and the end result) and just how much damn fun I’m having! Even making a cup of tea or emptying the dishwasher silences whatever is going on in my head. I’d like to achieve this state of being-but-not-overthinking in other aspects of my life and I figure that the best way is to get out of my head and into my body.

In other words, I have to practice because I am sorely out of shape!

I could resolve to do one thing a day that pushes me out of my head but I’m afraid daily routines (other than hygiene) fail for me every time. Instead, I think that I’m going to work on this from two different angles:

1) I’m going to make an effort to take note of those small, elusive moments in my day when my mind is still but my body is active. I want to be mindful of these moments and eventually cultivate more of them.
2) I’m going to become a more responsibile body owner. I will nourish it from the inside out with healthy food and from the outside in with lotions and potions. When cooking, I will (mostly) cook for what my body needs and not what my mind craves. I will fix myself up and then maintain my progress through exercise, sleep and a proper vitamin and medicine regime. I will not abuse myself with laziness or gluttony or too much caffeine. I will treat myself responsibly because I only get one shot.

Here the optimist in me screams “wonderful! You’ve got it! Focusing on the body will help the mind!” … Let’s hope so.

Now, onto the main event: Gluten-Free Corn Tortillas and Pancakes!

Anybody who has spent time in a kitchen knows that things don’t always go as planned. Such was the case last night when Alex and I decided to make Gluten-Free Tortillas. After out initial batch it became clear that our tortillas weren’t going to work as planned and so with a few quick adjustments they became delicious gluten-free pancakes! I have amended the tortilla recipe to one that will work and have also included the recipe for our scrumptious pancakes!

Gluten-Free Tortillas

1 cup corn flour
1/2 cup almond flour
1 tsp. paprika
1 1/2 c. milk, lactaid or water
1/2 cup pureed peas, pureed spinach, tomato paste, pureed corn or 1 roasted red bell pepper [optional]
Pinch of salt and pepper

Blend all ingredients together. The mixture should be very runny– add extra milk or water if needed. Ladle a thin layer into a hot, well-greased frying pan. Let your tortilla sit until the edges have lightened and small bubbles appear. Flip and fry until the edges begin to lift off the pan.

Stuff with veggies, cold meats, tacos… whatever your heart desires!

Gluten-Free Corn Pancakes

I’m usually very unimpressed with pancakes– they’re so boring, often burnt on the outside and doughy on the inside and are, overall, very dull. We made a savory version of these ones, though, and I was delighted! I’ve included a savoury option for those who don’t want a sweet meal as well as an option for those who love their traditional pancake with syrup or fruit.

1 cup corn flour
1/2 cup almond flour
1 egg
1 1/2 cup milk, lactaid or water
1 tbsp sugar
1/2 cup pumpkin puree (for the sweet pancakes) or 1 roasted red bell pepper (for the savoury)

Whisk all ingredients together. The batter should be a bit thinner than what you’d expect from gluten pancakes but they
will puff up nicely when they’re cooked.

As above, fry on a well-greased pan until the edges have lightened and bubbles appear on top.

Flip, and cook until the edges begin to lift off of your pan. Serve the pumpkin version as your typical breakfast pancake or serve the savoury one with hashbrowns, eggs or a veggie hash on top.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Gluten-Free Tortillas and Pancakes”

  1. shauna Says:

    Kate! I used Random.org to choose winners for the Ellie Krieger book, and you are one of them! But I cannot find an email address here. Can you send me your address and telephone number to mailglutenfreegirl@gmail.com? thanks!


Leave a Reply

