Laura Mulvey, Part II

Tune of the Day: Justice – D.A.N.C.E. (MSTRKRFT Remix)

I requested that my friend Patrick describe his girlfriend to me. It took him a few tries, but after tripping over a physical description of her and a survey of her personality, he erupted with a delightful comparison. I didn’t have a tape recorder with me so the description here isn’t in his exact words, but it’s as close as I can remember.

She’s like sand on a beach. It always looks a little disheveled, but still so perfectly in place. And it’s in so many pieces, and it’s always moving around, but it’s always completely where it should be.

I thought it was beautiful; it’s a cohesive description that didn’t remind me of anything I’ve ever read.

I’ll come up with more delightful examples from the book that I’m reviewing when I’m on my second go-round.

In other news, the newest version of MLA format insists that italics be used instead of underlining a title. I’m excited about this, because I much prefer the use of italics.

Explore posts in the same categories: Book Talk, Education Matters

2 Comments on “Laura Mulvey, Part II”

  1. Alex Phillips Says:

    That is good food for thought.

    Also, I never thought you the Justice type…

  2. Kate Marlow Says:

    Glad to know that I can still surprise you.


Leave a Reply

